Faith, Meditation & Prayer

I have been feeling sad about a lot of things happening in the world. I feel powerless to do anything but I think prayer is something I can do. I’ll keep writing as well. I find it hard to feel good about anything in the world just now, I’m not the sort of person who can switch it off easily. Nor do I particularly want to be the sort of person that can switch it off. Meditation & mindfulness for me isn’t about stopping myself from thinking.

Losing attachment to things doesn’t mean I should stop caring, or that I should feel nothing at all in life, it isn’t about becoming a more productive robot in the workplace, about hitting ambitious targets or finding a way to feel better about & perhaps ignore the injustice & suffering happening in society.

I wish the world would change, I really do. I’m tired of it, I’ve had enough of it. Why can’t we all just learn to live in peace, share what we have, care about the welfare of the environment & each other, & build an equal happier society?

Maybe people just aren’t ready yet.

I get impatient because I worry that by the time people are ready, it will be too late.

However I should have more faith, there are other forces at work in the world, not always visible to us but they are there & they are working for good.

Feeling really unwell today, perhaps the only thing I can really do at the moment is meditate & pray.

– keep it real –

Leave a Reply

