Insight Meditation 10 (too much thinking or a Koan to be wrestled with?)

Insight Meditation 10

I had a perplexing problem to try & grasp in my mind today. It could be seen as a spontaneous Zen koan because the answer isn’t clear & requires a lot of focus. It is not an easy thought to ignore, for me anyway it has scuppered my boat.

It goes something like this, I was listening to a podcast about dreams & the latest ideas in Neuro science as to what they may be. I have a very intense dream life, I find dreams have a deep impact on my waking life, the images & feelings stay with me through most of the day.

I heard a professor state that people who have brain damage to a certain area of the brain cannot dream anymore. They still have REM sleep, but no dreams. This made me feel afraid. The dream world is just a section of the brain, when that section of the brain is gone, the dreams are gone.

I then read an article which said that 98% of people feel empathy, but 2% don’t. Again due to problems with the area of the brain to do with empathy.

I guess a lot of this fits into impermanence.

Who am I? Am I really just a biological brain & nothing more?

The Buddha believed in reincarnation, but I don’t really believe in reincarnation. I would like to believe we have souls, a spirit, but there is no evidence to support this.

I feel depressed & confused.

What is the point of living if we are all going to die? All this searching for meaning when maybe there is none?

I feel like there’s something more, something beyond the material world; but that could just be my brain tricking me.

It is so hard to let go of this thought, because none of the answers I can come up with are satisfactory enough.

It really challenges me & has stopped me in my tracks.

What is the point in any of this if we cease to exist when we die?

One thought on “Insight Meditation 10 (too much thinking or a Koan to be wrestled with?)

  1. That’s because there is something more and deep in our beings we all know that.
    “God has placed eternity in the hearts of men.” Solomon wrote this by inspiration of God.
    And all cultures reflect this knowledge is in them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

