Christian Buddhist

I have noticed in my Buddhist practise I will spontaneously break into prayer to God. This seems to be deeply ingrained in me. I thought about it for a while. Personally I reject a lot of the bible & dislike a lot of what is written in there, seeing it as manmade propaganda, but as Christianity is the main religion in the West & the one I grew up with, it is not so easy to escape it’s influence, as it is deeply embedded in our culture & consciousness. So instead of rejecting the predominant religion of the West & incorporating alien hard to understand ideas from another culture into my practise. It seems more natural to embrace the idea of being a Christian Buddhist. This isn’t as bizarre as it first sounds when you hear it. But rather than me writing a long boring  essay about it on this blog – I’ll just post a link which describes what I’m talking about much better:

http://www.buddhistgeeks.com/2010/08/christian-buddhism/

Leave a Reply

