Don’t Let Libraries Die

http://www.alternet.org/books/why-libraries-matter-more-ever-age-google

I remember when I was roughing it years ago, the library would be a place of sanctuary. It didn’t matter if I was homeless, noone looked down on me or barred me from entering. I could go there, keep warm & dry if the weather was crap, & read & find out about all sorts of stuff.

That’s the cool thing about libraries they’re open to everyone & they’re free, you don’t have to spend money to be there, no pressure to be a consumer, all the knowledge on the shelves is available to everyone.

I don’t want libraries to end up going down the private route of becoming another cold corporate monopoly.

I know books use paper, but we don’t have to kill trees to make paper. Good quality paper can be made out of hemp.

I like libraries… Don’t let corporations kill them.

image

Leave a Reply

